Friday, June 23, 2017

{Blog Tour} Lost and Found Sister - Jill Shalvis (Review)

   


From New York Times bestselling author Jill Shalvis comes her first women's fiction novel—an unforgettable story of friendship, love, family, and sisterhood—perfect for fans of Colleen Hoover, Susan Mallery, and Kristan Higgins. Order your copy today!

   

They say life can change in an instant…

After losing her sister in a devastating car accident, chef Quinn Weller is finally getting her life back on track. She appears to have it all: a loving family, a dream job in one of L.A.'s hottest eateries, and a gorgeous boyfriend dying to slip an engagement ring on her finger. So why does she feel so empty, like she's looking for a missing piece she can't find?

The answer comes when a lawyer tracks down Quinn and reveals a bombshell secret and a mysterious inheritance that only she can claim. This shocking revelation washes over Quinn like a tidal wave. Her whole life has been a lie.

On impulse, Quinn gives up her job, home, and boyfriend. She heads up the coast to the small hometown of Wildstone, California, which is just a few hours north, but feels worlds apart from Los Angeles. Though she doesn't quite fit in right away, she can't help but be drawn to the town’s simple pleasures…and the handsome, dark-haired stranger who offers friendship with no questions asked.

As Quinn settles into Wildstone, she discovers there's another surprise in store for her. The inheritance isn't a house or money, but rather something earth shattering, something that will make her question everything she thought she knew about herself, about her family. Now with a world of possibilities opening up to Quinn, she must decide if this new life is the one she was always meant to have—and the one that could finally give her the fulfillment she's searched so long for.

   

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Kobo | Google | iBooks | Books-A-Million | IndieBound

   

ADD LOST AND FOUND SISTERS TO YOUR GOODREADS

   

Review
This book follows Quinn on her road to self-discovery.  Quinn lost her sister recently in a car accident and just feels lost in her life.  She is going through the motions, but doesn’t seem to be putting much effort past that.  One day she gets a surprise visit and finds out about an inheritance in Wildstone.  Quinn now needs to figure out what she is going to do with her life.

I loved that the author could put humor into the book while dealing with such a heavy topic of loss.  The author did a great job keeping the story light while also dealing with heavier topics.  I never felt overwhelmed while reading, but just wanted to continue and hoped for the best for each character.

Quinn by far is an amazing main character.  She is young; just turning 30 and has no idea what she wants out of life.  Quinn is taking each new opportunity with stride and focusing on figuring out what she wants, while also not trying to run away scared. I loved that the author made Quinn feel so real.   I could totally relate to Quinn and her struggles.  I do feel she doesn’t give herself enough credit for her ability to keep going as well as her ability to think things through.

The romance that sparks up between Quinn and Mick is adorable.   The author does a great job creating the dynamic between them because at first there is some miscommunication and it needs to get straightened out.  I love that Quinn could open up to Mick about her life and I really felt that they had a deep connection almost instantly.

I loved the relationship that the author created between Quinn and her sister Beth who she lost in the car accident.  

I can’t think of anything specific I didn’t love in the book.  The book was very nicely paced and kept moving along.  I wanted to know what was going to happen to everyone in the book and was rooting for all the characters because even with some flaws I wanted everyone to end up happy.

I would suggest this as a beach read.  I found it difficult to put this book down and was easier to read when I had a longer amount of time to read.

I received a copy of this book from Inkslinger PR to provide an honest review.  This does not affect my opinion of this book.

My Rating: 5/5


Excerpt
To say that Tilly had had a bad day, a bad week, a bad month was an understatement. But as she stared down from the tree house, looking into a face that so resembled her own, somehow, in spite of not being able to breathe, she managed to find her voice. “I don’t need you,” she said, hating that she sounded thin and quivery, like she’d been crying.
She had not been crying.
At least not that she would admit to.
She hadn’t been in the tree house in a while. Not since she’d gone through a rough patch at school when the girls had been bitches and the teachers jerks, and her mom had been on her about her grades, and all she’d wanted to do was make herself invisible. But no matter how much she’d wished for superpowers, including invisibility, they’d never come.
So she came here to vanish. The tree itself was tall and stable, and it always protected her. She’d named it Kevin.
Kevin had come through for her more than anyone else, with the exception of her mom.
The first time she’d sat up here, her mom had freaked out and called the cops to report her missing. When they’d found her, her mom had gotten a ladder and climbed up to the tree house, and with tears in her eyes she’d said, “Don’t fly away from me yet, darling, I’m not ready.”
After that, Tilly always had told her mom whenever she’d needed to be invisible and her mom had understood.
But now she was gone. There’d been no one left to give a shit if she disappeared or not. Especially not Quinn, a mysterious sister she hadn’t even known about. “I don’t need you,” she repeated.
“Well, that’s fair,” Quinn said. “I don’t like to need anyone either. You going to come down so we can talk?”
“No.”
“Is there a ladder?”
“It rotted.”
“Okay then.” And to Tilly’s shock, Quinn inhaled deeply and then began to climb the tree herself. “Yikes, they’re some seriously gigantor ants.”
“And killer squirrels,” Tilly said.
Maybe two whole feet off the ground, Quinn froze, looking terrified. “Killer squirrels?”
“They throw acorns with deadly accuracy,” Tilly said. “And the kamikaze blue jays are vicious, so watch out.”
Quinn searched the tree with concern, making Tilly laugh for the first time in a long time. “Are you afraid of squirrels and blue jays?”
“Of course not,” Quinn said. “I’m afraid of killer squirrels and kamikaze blue jays. In fact, there’s a squirrel starting at me right now with beady, shifty little eyes.”
“City girl.”


Jill Shalvis’s LOST AND FOUND SISTERS – Review & Excerpt Schedule:
June 12th
East Coast Book Chicks – Review & Excerpt
I Love Romance – Review & Excerpt
June 13th
Book Angel Booktopia – Review & Excerpt
Cocktails and Books – Review & Excerpt
Melena's Reviews – Review & Excerpt
The Book Hammock – Review & Excerpt
June 14th
Aly's Miscellany – Excerpt
Books,Dreams,Life – Excerpt
Coffee Books Life – Excerpt
The Readdicts – Review & Excerpt
June 15th
Debbie's World of Books – Review & Excerpt
Red Hot + Blue Reads – Review & Excerpt
Shannon's Book Blog – Review & Excerpt
June 16th
A Literary Perusal – Review & Excerpt
I Smell Sheep – Review & Excerpt
Reads & Reviews – Excerpt
June 17th
Bookishly Yours – Review & Excerpt
Lover of Big Books Cannot Lie – Review & Excerpt
June 18th
Robinson Reviews – Review
Those Crazy Book Chicks – Review & Excerpt
June 19th
Becky on Books – Review & Excerpt
BooksPieAndCoffee – Review
IrishdaisylovesRomance – Review & Excerpt
JOJO THE BOOKAHOLIC – Review & Excerpt
Writing My Own Fairy Tale – Review & Excerpt
June 20th
Marieke's Books – Review & Excerpt
Reviews from the Heart – Review & Excerpt
Thoughts of a Blonde – Review & Excerpt
Two Book Pushers – Review & Excerpt
June 21st
AC Squared Book Blog – Review & Excerpt
Literary Gossip – Excerpt
June 22nd
Books 2 Blog – Review & Excerpt
Cara's Book Boudoir – Review & Excerpt
I'm A Book Shark – Review & Excerpt
Love Affair With Fiction – Review & Excerpt
June 23rd
Book and Tequila – Review & Excerpt
Once Upon A Page – Review & Excerpt
Reading To Unwind – Review & Excerpt
Sweet Red Reads – Review & Excerpt
Talking Books Blog – Excerpt
June 24th
G & T's Indie Café – Excerpt
Red's Romance Review's – Review & Excerpt
Renee Entress's Blog – Review & Excerpt
TjLovesToRead – Review
    About Jill Shalvis: New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Jill Shalvis lives in a small town in the Sierras full of quirky characters. Any resemblance to the quirky characters in her books is, um, mostly coincidental. Look for Jill’s sexy contemporary and award-winning books wherever romances are sold and click on the blog button above for a complete book list and daily blog detailing her city-girl-living-in-the-mountains adventures.      

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Newsletter SignUp

   

6 comments:

  1. Oooo, five stars, how wonderful! That's awesome that you couldn't find any negatives or dislikes. I really need to get on board and read something by Shalvis. O_O Great review, Kristyn!

    Have a fabulous weekend. =)

    Alyssa @ The Eater of Books!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yes I was very happy with her book! I can't wait to read another one by Shalvis. Thank you for stopping by!

      Delete
  2. Yay! So excited because I have this one coming up soon. Sounds great!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It is super cute! I hope you enjoy it!

      Delete
  3. Thank you so much! ~Jessica, InkSlinger PR

    ReplyDelete

{Blog Tour} Adeline - Christina McKnight (Spotlight)

Friendship, loyalty, and honor above all. Follow the reveal and enter to #win a Rafflecopter giveaway Title: Adeline Series:...