Wednesday, April 19, 2017

Splintered Souls - Raye Wagner (Review)

Splintered Souls by Raye Wagner
Genres: Young Adult Fiction, Fantasy
Publication date: April 18th 2017
Publisher: Amazon Digital Services
Format: ebook/ 87 pages
How I got it: The author for exchange for an honest review
Buy it: Amazon 
My rating: 4/5 

Aricela Topaz trusts no one.
At seventeen, she learned that promises are nothing more than lies, honored only by the weak or naïve. And Aricela is no longer either.
After Narcos destroyed her innocence, they took her life, but Aricela escaped her childhood village with a new purpose. As Valkyrie, she is charged to take the souls of fallen warriors and athletes to Valhalla to await the final battle. But souls need to trust her before they’ll follow, and Aricela has no trust to give.
When collecting failures, instead of souls, draws the attention of the Norns, they give Aricela an ultimatum. If she can’t collect, she’ll be stripped of her powers and sent to Hel.
But when she meets Chase Adymn and Kai Cipriano in the small town of Kayville, everything changes. Forced to face the myths of her past, Aricela will also have to decide the fate of her future.


I love Raye Wagner’s Sphinx series and when I found out she had a new series coming out I knew I needed to read it. 

This is a new series that follow Aricela who is a Valkyrie in charge of gathering souls for a battle.  Aricela has a few issues that she facing herself and she now must work on keeping her job.

The ending of this book is very intense and very well written. There is a lot of action going on and decisions that must be made.  The author does a great job keeping emotions involved as well as having the story move along.   It captured my attention and I couldn’t put it down once the story developed.   I became very invested in the characters and wanted to know more about what was going on with collecting the souls.

The author does a great job creating Aricela’s background and showing us why she doesn’t trust anyone.  We get a great view her past and she opens up as the story progresses.  Aricela has real reasons for not trusting anyone and she changes as the book develops.   We get to see a whole new side of Aricela once she is faced with a new set of hard decisions to make.

Chase is an interesting character in this book.  We get him to open up a little bit during the book as well, but I would love to see more on him.   Chase had a rough childhood and he has had a lot to deal with on his plate.  Chase and Aricela hit it off in a very intense way that works for these two in this book.

My one complaint would be that the beginning starts off a little rough.  I feel like we are thrown into the action right away, which I like in a book, but we are missing so much background information it is a little too confusing for me.   Once the story picks up a lot of the information that is missing is explained, but I felt off when I first started the book and that makes it harder for me to read.

Also, I am not sure where the series will be going after this book.  I still have a lot of question and want to get a lot more details on what exactly the Valkyrie is planning the ware for.   The author is great at giving a lot of details and creating a whole story so I can’t wait to see where the story will go and what will happen next.

I would suggest this as a weekend read.  The book is very short and has a quick pace so you will be able to read it quickly.  

I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.  This does not effect my opinion of this book. 

My Rating: 4/5

About the Author
Raye Wagner grew up in Seattle, the second of eight children, and learned to escape chaos through the pages of fiction. As a youth, she read the likes of David Eddings, Leon Uris, and Jane Austen. Inspired by a fictional character, Raye pursued a career in nursing, thinking to help the world one patient at a time.
One summer afternoon, when her then young children were playing in the pool, a plot dropped into her head, and she started writing. 
She enjoys baking, puzzles, Tae Kwon Do, and the sound of waves lapping at the sand. She lives with her husband and three children in Middle Tennessee.

Origin of the Sphinx, a novella detailing the story leading up to the creation of the mythological creature, is her first publication. It is the beginning of the Sphinx series. 

Curse of the Sphinx, the first book in the series, is completed, and set to be released in August 2015.

Author Links:

 photo iconfacebook-32x32_zps64a79d4a.png photo iconwebsite-32x32_zps1f477f69.png photo icontwitter-32x32_zpsae13e2b2.png photo icongoodreads32_zps60f83491.png

No comments:

Post a Comment

{Blog Tour} Make Me Crave - Katee Robert (Review)

Have you Pre-ordered MAKE ME CRAVE Yet? In MAKE ME CRAVE by NYT Bestselling Author, Katee Robert, Roman Bassani will do anything to ...