Saturday, April 9, 2016

No One Knows - J.T. Ellison (Book Review)

25814204No One Knows by J.T. Ellison
Genres:  Fiction, Mystery
Publication date:
March 22, 2016

Publisher: Gallery Books 
Format: ebook, 368pages
How I got it: Netgalley
Buy it: Amazon Barnes & Noble
My rating: 4/5
 

In an obsessive mystery as thrilling as The Girl on the Train and The Husband’s Secret, New York Times bestselling author J.T. Ellison will make you question every twist in her page-turning novel—and wonder which of her vividly drawn characters you should trust.

The day Aubrey Hamilton’s husband is declared dead by the state of Tennessee should bring closure so she can move on with her life. But Aubrey doesn’t want to move on; she wants Josh back. It’s been five years since he disappeared, since their blissfully happy marriage—they were happy, weren’t they?—screeched to a halt and Aubrey became the prime suspect in his disappearance. Five years of emptiness, solitude, loneliness, questions. Why didn’t Josh show up at his friend’s bachelor party? Was he murdered? Did he run away? And now, all this time later, who is the mysterious yet strangely familiar figure suddenly haunting her new life?

In No One Knows, the New York Times bestselling coauthor of the Nicholas Drummond series expertly peels back the layers of a complex woman who is hiding dark secrets beneath her unassuming exterior. This masterful thriller for fans of Gillian Flynn, Liane Moriarty, and Paula Hawkins will pull readers into a you’ll-never-guess merry-go-round of danger and deception. Round and round and round it goes, where it stops…no one knows.
..............................................................................
  

My thoughts:

I love a great mystery novel that keeps you on the edge of your seat while reading.  I read this on the plane ride home that was 5 hours and not enough time to read this book and I kind of wanted the plane ride to be longer to finish uninterrupted! 

The book is told from several points of view, which helped to give me a complete picture of what is actually going on.  Also, the book jumps from present time to the past, which helps to see how events of today formed.  I loved this aspect of the book I felt like the details of past events helped to fill in all of my questions of how we got to where we were today.  I also enjoyed learning how Aubrey and Josh fell in love and how their relationship progressed.  I also loved getting a retelling of the night Josh disappeared I feel like that helped me with a timeline I was making in my head while reading.

I feel in love with Aubrey from the beginning she had lost her parents when she was young and sent to a group home where she had to grow up to fast.  Josh became her constant in her life and her support system so when he disappeared she was broken.  When I started reading the book she was by far my favorite character just her back story and how she just got out of bed each day was a struggle.  Aubrey was depressed since her husband disappeared five years ago, but she was trying to move on.  Aubrey finally meets a normal guy name Chase and it seems like she is finally going to get over Josh and move on, but then random events begin to happen.  By the end of the book all I could think was Aubrey's character was written perfectly!!

I didn't love Daisy, she was Aubrey's mother in law and she hated Aubrey.  Daisy seemed to be out to get Aubrey ever since her parents died.  As you read throughout the book you could see Daisy's hatred of Aubrey just kept piling up. I had a small change of heart on Daisy towards the end of the book, without giving anything away she did have a traumatic event occur in her younger years and seemed not to be able to get passed it.

The story is very well written, it keeps the reader wanting more and wanting to piece everything together.  The ending for me really sold me on how well the story was written it is a complete twist in my mind and something I didn't see coming.  I became fully engrossed in the story from the beginning I feel like this is a quick read since you want to know what was going to happen next.  I love how the events start to slowing unravel in the book leading to more and more questions.  The author did a great job leaving breadcrumbs for the reader to pick up and keep the story flowing. 

I would suggest this as a vacation read or weekend read where you have a little more time to sit down and binge read.  Once you start reading you are going to want to know what really happened to Josh since everything isn't adding up.

I was received this book from Netgalley for the purpose of providing an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

 ..............................................................................

About the Author


J.T. EllisonNew York Times bestselling author J.T. Ellison writes dark psychological thrillers starring Nashville Homicide Lt. Taylor Jackson and medical examiner Dr. Samantha Owens, and pens the Nicholas Drummond series with #1 New York Times bestselling author Catherine Coulter. Cohost of the premier literary television show, A Word on Words , Ellison lives in Nashville with her husband and twin kittens.

Visit JTEllison.com for more insight into her wicked imagination, or follow her on Facebook and Twitter @thrillerchick.

Author Links:
 photo iconwebsite-32x32_zps1f477f69.png  photo icongoodreads32_zps60f83491.png  photo icontwitter-32x32_zpsae13e2b2.png  photo iconfacebook-32x32_zps64a79d4a.png

No comments:

Post a Comment

{Blog Tour} The Frenchman - Lise McClendon (Review, Excerpt & Giveaway)

Lise McClendon on Tour September 8-21 with The Frenchman (mystery)  Release date: September 8, 2017 at Thalia Press 278 pages ...